Messages in Secret Chats can't be forwarded to other users and have a self-destruct timer. Secret Chats are identified by a lock icon next to them.
Opened by tapping on the header. The info page contains self-desctruct timer settings and encryption key visualization. The pencil icon allows editing the contact.
Users can set a self-desruct interval ranging from 1 second to 1 week. The options are: off || 1s || 2s || 3s || 4s || 5s || 6s || 7s || 8s || 9s || 10s || 11s || 12s || 13s || 14s || 15s || 1m || 1h || 1d || 1w.
On shorter timers of 1 minute and less image previews are not shown in the chat. They are instead heavily blurred, have a flame icon and can only be viewed while the user keeps his finger pressed on the photo.
As soon as the user views a photo, the self-destruct timer goes off. Countdown can be seen both in the photo viewer and in the chat list.
On the sender's side no countdown is show. Once the timer starts, the flame icon is substituted by a big checkmark. The photo is then deleted as soon as the time runs out.